what is halal food and what's not
If I were to describe the whole thing.. it'll be lengthy.. so I'd try my best to sum up.. and as usual if anything's unclear, do ask for clarification
almost anything is halal as long as the food is not harmful to life/health. we are not allowed to eat
1. poisonous animal/plant.. e.g. snake, or some known to be poisonous mushrooms..
2. animals that live in land ALSO in water e.g. penyu/turtle, ketam batu
3. animals that have fangs.. like a tiger... erm.. walrus? dogs/cats
4. cannot eat pork/lard/gelatine derived from pork.. or whatever related with pigs
5. dirty food.. i dun mean dropped on the floor dirty.. i'm talking bout fecal matter dirty
6. cows/chicken/goat/unta which are not slaughtered as proposed by Islam - electrocuted/chopping of the neck/death by boiling.. and such (jews slaughter their meat the same way as the muslims so we can safely eat kosher)
those are the ones that i probably can't remember..
anything from sea is good to eat
I'm so a happy muslim hehe
In the Quran it clearly states that a muslim shud never have anything to do with alcoholic beverages especially of course to drink it. some muslims wouldn't want to even go near it.. hence avoiding restaurants that serves alcohol altogether. I on the other hand.. I'm not bothered with a few cans of drink in the fridge or on other patrons table coz I know so that I have nothing to do with it.
aaand.. if a restaurant is serving alcohol.. but halal food the restaurant can't be branded as halal becoz it's not 100% halal.
another thing is about brandy/wine/rum/liqour in food... some believe that if the food is cooked >100 degrees that there's nothing wrong with consuming it coz alcohol evaporates after.. aa.. is it 72 degrees.. I forgot.. but yeah.. but liqour in tiramisu.. sorry la as tempting it may be.. cannot eat
and about non-muslims cooking for the muslims..
it's just a matter of how confident u are with the cooking. many muslims are not confident with non-muslim's cooking because some non-muslims only know that 'halal' means 'no pork'. So many are dubious whether or not the food are properly prepared. in our religion it's best to avoid eating food that ur not sure whether it's halal or not. So.. since halal food is almost everywhere in malaysia.. that's why muslims just not interested to go eat at non-muslim's places
do ask if still puzzled.. I'd be happy to elaborate